News: Kwaku Mills to star in 2019 revival of Arinzé Kene’s good dog

good dog in rehearsals - kwaku mills (photo by wasi daniju) (3)
Photo credit: Wasi Daniju

tiata fahodzi and Tara Finney Productions, in association with Watford Palace Theatre, have announced that Kwaku Mills will star in the revival of Arinzé Kene’s good dog. Directed by tiata fahodzi’s Artistic Director Natalie Ibu, good dog will open at Watford Palace Theatre before touring to venues including Sheffield Theatres, Northern Stage, Stephen Joseph Theatre, Birmingham REP, North Wall Arts Centre and Salisbury Playhouse.

Set during the early noughties, good dog tells the story of growing up in a multi-cultural community, and the everyday injustices that drive people to take back control. The inspiration for Kene’s delicately observed and fearlessly-told play stemmed from a desire to imagine what drove his friends and community to riot in the summer of 2011 – in London and beyond – but it has become a chronicle of a community struggling to survive and fighting back.

Commenting on the announcement, Kwaku Mills said: “I’m beyond excited to be joining good dog. I’ve admired Arinze‘s work fora while now, so it’s a real honour to get to perform his words. It’s such a vibrant, intelligent urgent play, and a gift of a character to work on.”

The 2019 national tour of good dog is supported by Arts Council England.

Tour Dates

Thurs 31st Jan – Sat 2nd Feb Watford Palace Theatre, Watford
www.watfordpalacetheatre.co.uk

Tues 5th Feb The Quarry Theatre, Bedford
www.quarrytheatre.org.uk

Thurs 7th – Sat 8th Feb Crucible Studio, Sheffield
www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk

Sat 9th Feb Northern Stage, Newcastle
www.northernstage.co.uk

Tues 12th – Wed 13th Feb Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough
www.sjt.uk.com

Thurs 14th – Sat 16th Feb Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
www.traverse.co.uk

Sat 23rd Feb Folkestone Quarterhouse, Folkestone
www.creativefoundation.org.uk

Tues 26th – Wed 27th Feb Stantonbury Theatre, Milton Keynes
www.stantonburytheatre.co.uk

Thurs 28th Feb RADA, London
www.rada.ac.uk

Tues 5th Mar Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells
www.assemblyhalltheatre.co.uk

Wed 6th – Sat 9th Mar The Birmingham Repertory Theatre, Birmingham
www.birmingham-rep.co.uk

Mon 11th – Tues 12th Mar The North Wall Arts Centre, Oxford
www.thenorthwall.com

Wed 13th Mar E.M. Forster Theatre, Tonbridge
www.emftheatre.com

Thurs 14th – Sat 16th Mar Salisbury Playhouse, Salisbury
www.wiltshirecreative.co.uk

Wed 20th – Sat 23rd Mar Bernie Grant Arts Centre, London
www.berniegrantcentre.co.uk

Photo credit: Wasi Daniju

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: